Balam Rodrigo (Mexico, 1974)

July 8th to 15th, 2017


Balam Rodrigo (Mexico, 1974)

Balam Rodrigo (Villa de Comaltitlan, Soconusco, Chiapas, Mexico, 1974). Ex soccer player, with a BS in biology from the UNAM and certified in pastoral theology.  He is the author of the books of poetry: Lunar Habit (2005), Amaranto Sea Poems (2006), Libel of Various Necrology (2006 and 2008), Silencia (2007), Larva Agony (2008), Icarias (2008 and 2010) Logbook of the Nomadic Tree (2011), Four Murmurs and Neighing on the Plains of Silence (2012), Logomaquia (Puerto Rico, 2012), Braille for the Deaf (2013), Book of Salt  (2013), The Uncrushable Organ of the Dream , (Guatemala, 2015), The Heart is a Lightning Cage (Spain, 2015), Forgetfulness of the Sleepwalker King  (2015), Black Iceberg (2015), Bard. Little anthology (Chile, 2016), Dying is a Big Lie that We as Men Invented to Not See us Every Day (2016), Collected Remains (Anthology of Poems & Useless Thoughts) (2016) and Blackbirds Whistling for the Beautymuse (2016). Some of his poems have been translated into English, Portuguese, Zapotec, Polish and French, and appear in anthologies, magazines and newspapers of Mexico, as well as in publications of the Dominican Republic, Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, Chile, The United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Portugal, Germany, Poland and France. His work has received more than forty international, national, regional and state awards, among others: Young Mexico City Poetry Prize 2006, Efrain Huerta National Poetry Prize 2011, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz International Literature Contest 2012, National Prize of Poetry Rosario Castellanos 2013 and International Prize of Poetry Jaime Sabines 2014. He is member of the National System Creators of Art of Mexico.

Published at May 27th, 2017

Última actualización: 28/06/2018